Bracken Bower prize winner Jonathan Hillman
Jonathan Hillman, author of The Digital Silk Road and 2019 Bracken Bower prize winner, is one of this year’s judges © Marie-Helene Carleton/Four Corners Media

Eleven ideas for business books, on themes ranging from sustainability to the future of healthcare, have made the shortlist for this year’s £15,000 Bracken Bower Prize.

The award, backed by the Financial Times and consultancy McKinsey, goes to the best business book proposal by an author aged under 35.

The prize has been a launch pad for young business writers, a number of whom have gone on to bring their ideas to publication.

One of this year’s judges is Jonathan Hillman, author of The Digital Silk Road, based on his prizewinning proposal from 2019, about the battle between the US and China for control over the next generation of technology. Andrew Leon Hanna, winner in 2018, saw his book, 25 Million Sparks, about the rise of entrepreneurs in refugee camps and cities, published earlier this year.

Judges will select up to three proposals from those shortlisted. The three finalists will be named later this month, when will also publish extracts from their proposals.

The finalists will be invited to a presentation ceremony on December 5 in London, where this year’s FT Business Book of the Year Award will also be presented. Finalists and shortlisted authors also take part in a masterclass with representatives from the publishing industry, who will advise them on how to bring business ideas to the bookshelves.

The shortlisted authors for the 2022 Bracken Bower Prize are:

Otilia Barbuta

Victoria Berquist

James da Costa

Ariel de Fauconberg

Will Hall-Smith

Patrick Hinton

Anas Kaakeh

David Maggs

Salil Motianey

Drake Pooley

Julia Sekula

Hillman is joined on this year’s judging panel by Isabel Fernandez-Mateo, professor of strategy and entrepreneurship at London Business School, Rik Ubhi, editorial director of Heligo Books, and Katherine Garrett-Cox, chief executive of GIB Asset Management.

Last year’s winners of the Bracken Bower Prize were Ines Lee and Eileen Tipoe with their proposal for a book about the future of higher education, Failing the Class.

The Bracken Bower Prize is named after Brendan Bracken, former chair of the FT, and Marvin Bower, former managing director of McKinsey. The judges are looking for a proposal that provides a compelling and enjoyable insight into future trends in business, economics, finance or management.

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2024. All rights reserved.
Reuse this content (opens in new window) CommentsJump to comments section

Follow the topics in this article